NEWS: Tuesday March 16, 2010

Mar 16th @ 7:56 am in News by Scott Staley

Montrose County precinct caucuses begin at 7 p.m. today, and all registered Republicans and Democrats are encouraged to participate. Montrose County has 28 precincts. Everyone is invited to attend the caucus to understand the process. But to vote, participants must have affiliated with a Democratic or Republican party, as other parties do not hold caucuses by January 19. And they must have established residency within their precinct by February 16. These credentials will be verified at each caucus.

To find out what precinct you’re in, visit Enter your voter registration identity, and then check line 11. Your precinct is the final two numbers in a 10-digit series of numbers.

Twenty-two of the 28 precincts will meet at Montrose High School in the Lloyd McMillan Gymnasium at 7 p.m. Tuesday. This includes, for the first time, Olathe precincts 12, 13 and 28.

Sites for the other precincts are:
Precinct 5 Nucla Senior Citizens Center, 386 Main St. in Nucla.
Precinct 8 Naturita Library, 411 W. Second Ave. in Naturita.
Precinct 10 Community Center, 21665 6.00 Road in Paradox.
Precincts 15 and 16 Redvale Community Center, Colorado 145 and Redvale Road.
Precinct 11 Maher School Community Building, Colorado 92 and Clearfork Road.

Twenty-three of the 28 precincts will meet at 7 p.m. Tuesday at Centennial Middle School.

Sites for the other precincts are:
Precinct 5, 8, 10 and 16 Naturita Library, 107 W. First Ave. in Naturita
Precinct 11 Home of Sydney Shaw, 78344 Black Bear Trail in Crawford; call (970) 921-3450 for directions.