NEWS: Wednesday May 26, 2010

May 26th @ 7:48 am in News by Scott Staley

A Montrose sawmill, one of the biggest in the West, announced to the public yesterday that they are in receivership. According to the Daily Press, Intermountain Resources, located on 6530 Road, now has a court-appointed receiver, just six months after receiving a half-million dollars in federal funds, because in laymen’s terms, the mill is broke.  The article points out that contracted workers with the mill haven’t been paid for work completed in March or April, and one worker points out that they really don’t know what’s going on.  Intermountain Resources opened in 1996 and has an impact of more than $36 million to the Montrose economy.
Source: Daily Press (Posted 7:48a)

A Delta man who fractured a child’s skull was sentenced today. NBC 11 News says Leobardo Rincon pleaded guilty to child abuse and was sentenced to six years in prison. Rincon told police the child fell off a stroller and hit her head, later admitting that when she fell off he “lost it” and hit her in the head and threw her back into the stroller.
Source: NBC 11 News (Posted 12:13p)

A bill that was pushed by Montrose County RE-1J Superintendent George Voorhis was signed by Governor Bill Ritter yesterday. House Bill 10-1274 will require the State Department of Human Services to notify schools before enrollment by students in state car who may present a risk to the community or themselves. This bill should prevent what happened in Montrose High School two years ago from happening to schools in Colorado ever again. In November 2008 a MHS student was attacked by an outside juvenile who was just released from a residential treatment facility. The student survived and the boy was convicted and is currently serving time in a youth offender program.
(Posted 5:22p)

Another bill signed by Governor Ritter yesterday now requires jail sentences for people who repeatedly get caught driving drunk. The new law imposes a minimum 10-day sentence for a second offense and 60 days for third and subsequent offenses.  The Denver Post says that unlike most states, Colorado still has no felony law for people who rack up a series of drunken-driving convictions. The new DUI law, however, does require repeat offenders to be on probation for two years and enter alcohol-education and treatment programs.
Source: Denver Post (Posted 7:44a)