McMahill Named Division II Wrestler of the Year

Apr 4th @ 1:56 pm in News by Scott Staley

western state

GUNNISON – Western State College’s two-time national champion Donovan McMahill added another accolade to his collegiate career when he was named Division II Wrestler of the Year this morning on Takedown Radio.

McMahill received seven first-place votes on the eight ballots to easily win the honor. Nebraska-Omaha’s Mario Morgan finished as the runner-up.

“I think back and I don’t think I could have dreamt the season up any better than it turned out this year,” McMahill said on Takedown Radio this morning. “Miles Van Hee does so much for me, and I’m so lucky and blessed by this great coaching staff and wrestling program.”

McMahill finished the season with a 34-0 record and 21 bonus point victories at 197 pounds. He became the first Mountaineer wrestler since 1965 to finish with a perfect record, and was the only Division II wrestler this season to finish undefeated. He’s the first two-time national champion for Western State since Al Rozman in the 1964 and 1965 seasons.

McMahill won the Outstanding Wrestler award at the national championships to become the first Mountaineer in program history to win the honor. He won the RMAC championship the last three seasons and was the national runner-up in his freshman season. McMahill finished with a 137-20 record and holds the program record for career victories.

“It’s a very deserving honor for (Donovan McMahill),” said Central Oklahoma Director of Athletic Media Relations Mike Kirk, who made the announcement this morning. “He’s been an outstanding wrestler and was a fun guy to watch on the mat.”

McMahill is the second RMAC wrestler to win the national award since it was established in 2008. Nebraska-Kearney’s Tervel Dlagnev won the inaugural award.