BLM’s 3 Stages of Fire Restrictions

Jun 20th @ 9:35 am in News by Scott Staley

Burnout Operations

(Montrose, CO)   Stage One Fire restrictions were instigated on Bureau of Land Management Land on June, 19th.  The following are the definitions of the three stages of Fire Restrictions designated by the BLM:

Stage One Fire Restrictions

  • Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire or campfire except a fire within a permanent constructed fire grate in a developed campground.
  • Smoking on public land except within an enclosed vehicle or building, within a developed recreation site or while stopped in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable materials

Stage Two Fire Restrictions

  • All Stage One Restrictions
  • Welding
  • Using chainsaws
  • Building, maintaining, attending, or using a fire, campfire or stove fire

Stage Three

  • All burning prohibited