Colorado State Patrol’s most recent Click it or Ticket campaign resulted in 2,356 citations being issued. CSP Public Information Officer Emily Wilfong says the most recent dragnet targeted motorists traveling at night. She says efforts were ramped up to enforce seat belt use at night because nighttime passenger vehicle occupants are mostly likely to be unrestrained and killed in crashes. During the week-long enforcement period, 7 drivers and passengers died in crashes in the state, and over half (4) of them were not wearing seat belts.
Of the 2,356 citations given, 1,718 were for unrestrained drivers and passengers ages 16 and up. The other 638 were for unrestrained children. The minimum fine for not wearing a seat belt in Colorado is $65 for adults and $82 for unrestrained children.